Episode 15 – Part 3 of 3 of Skip Allen Continues His Family’s Crisis as Covered by The New York Times, Dateline NBC & ABC’s 20/20; Skip, Who Is Gay, Is the Son of Former President of the Southern Baptist Convention.

We’ve Moved!

Read this post at its new home on the www.johnselig.com website.

2 Responses to “Episode 15 – Part 3 of 3 of Skip Allen Continues His Family’s Crisis as Covered by The New York Times, Dateline NBC & ABC’s 20/20; Skip, Who Is Gay, Is the Son of Former President of the Southern Baptist Convention.”


  1. 1 Gary Bearden Tuesday, 18 Sep 2007 at 10:29 UTC

    Since I knew about the Allen family since I was at one time a member of Dr. Jimmy Allen’s church and knew about the mother and the boys, I have always interested in hearing new things about their family. As a recovering Southern Baptist, I would love to see the Southern Baptist convention taken back by men like Jimmy Allen. In 1980, when he was the last moderate president. I was in the closet but knew that I was gay. I use to tell my friends that I was more Baptist than Christian….Boy did that change in a hurry. The sad thing about the Southern Baptist convention is the fundamentalist group that took over the convention were pretty much all closeted gays. Skip Allen is a wonderful person. I am glad that he is reconciled with his Dad. It is also great to hear the Scott is doing great. I am enjoying your podcasts, so please keep up the great work.

    Gary

  2. 2 Rebecca Arndt Friday, 12 Sep 2008 at 09:27 UTC

    I sat and listened to all 3 podcasts and can only thank you for this. I met Skip many years ago while in school. I lost touch after leaving for Europe in ’79… I saw him a couple of times during the next 20 years and knew some points of his story but lost touch. I’ve been back in the US 6 years and only recently started trying to find him again, not knowing if he was even alive still. It was so great to hear his voice … to listen to him…. I think I’ve found him again.
    Thank you so much for this interview.


Comments are currently closed.



Podcast Archives

Categories:

Your Favorite Podcasts


